How to Get ISI (BIS) Certification in India?

ISI (BIS) Certification in India regulated by the Bureau of Indian Standards, under an Act of Indian Parliament, known as the Bureau of Indian Standards Act, 1986. ISI Certification is a way to ensure the quality, safety, and reliability of the product to the customer.

In General, the ISI Certification is voluntary in nature but certain products require mandatory BIS certification considering public health. It allows the licensee to use the ISI mark on its product which gives the assurance of the quality of the product as per Indian Standard.

ISI (BIS) Certification

What is Product Certification Scheme?

ISI Product Certification Scheme is one of the largest in the world which covers more than 900 products and over 26500 licenses. It allows the applicant to the licensee to use ISI mark on its product. Certain products are covered under mandatory registration while some products are covered under compulsory registration scheme. They are mainly categorized into three types:

  • Domestic (Indian ) Manufacturer Certification Scheme
    1. Normal Procedure
    2. Simplified Procedure
  • Foreign Manufacturer Certification Scheme (FMCS): Overseas applicants are granted a license for the use of ISI mark under the separately designed scheme. The manufacturers, which have their company location outside India, can apply under FMCS (BIS).
  • Eco Mark Scheme: BIS is also providing a license to environmentally friendly products under a special scheme and grants the ECO Mark to such products. The product should also fulfill the basic requirement under Indian Standard to The Government of India has implemented a scheme for labeling of environment-friendly products which is known as ECO mark and is administered by Bureau of Indian Standards.

What are the Mandatory Products for ISI Certification in India?

In order to consider the public health and safety of the customer certain products needs to mandatory have ISI Certification in India. One cannot manufacture or sell this product without ISI Certification. The following are products that require mandatory BIS Certification in India:

  1. Cement
  2. Household electrical goods
  3. Food and related products
  4. Diesel engines
  5. Oil pressure stoves
  6. Automobile accessories
  7. Cylinders, Valves and Regulators
  8. Medical Equipment
  9. Steel Products
  10. Electrical Transformers

The ISI Certification Scheme is managed through its various regional offices in the state and has various branches all over India. The Designated officer has been authorized to visit the location of the manufacturer and grant the license under the BIS Act and regulations.

Product Category for Eco Mark Scheme

Following are the product categories which are covered under this scheme:

  • Soaps and Detergents;
  • Paints;
  • Paper;
  • Plastics;
  • Cosmetics;
  • Textiles;
  • Batteries;
  • Wood Substitutes;
  • Propellants and Aerosols;
  • Food Items (edible oils – including Vanaspati, Tea, and Coffee);
  • Electrical and Electronics Goods;
  • Packing/Packaging Materials;
  • Lubricating/Specialty Oils;
  • Drugs;
  • Foods Preservatives and Additives;
  • Pesticides;and
  • Leather

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s